KRSS Awards Committee

Dawn Coe, Ph.D. – Chair Larry Brown Jeffrey Grahm, Ph.D. Lyndsey Hornbuckle-Lampkin, Ph.D. Joshua Weinhandl, Ph.D.

The KRSS department prepares scholars, practitioners, and leaders in exercise, sport, and recreation, conducts cutting-edge research, and maintains a commitment to inclusive excellence, social justice, and local-to-global initiatives. The department has specific funds which support particular aspects of its programs, including some of the awards given this year.

KRSS Support Fund
Exercise Science Support Fund
Biomechanics-Sports Medicine Enrichment Fund
Camp Koinonia Fund
Partners in Sports Endowment
Andy Kozar Graduate Research Scholarship Endowment
Dr. Craig Wrisberg Endowment
Joan Cronan Lady Vol Graduate Fellowship Endowment

If you are interested in making a contribution to any of the funds listed above, you may visit our website to learn more, or make a check payable to the UT Foundation and indicate the specific fund to which the check should be directed and mail it to the address listed below:

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences
Attn: Office of Development
A-304 Bailey Education Complex
1122 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996-3968

krss.utk.edu/support-krss/



THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE KNOXVILLE

DEPARTMENT OF KINESIOLOGY, RECREATION & SPORT STUDIES

2020 Awards Recognition

KRSS Annual Awards Ceremony

Welcome - David R. Bassett, Jr., Department Head

KRSS Departmental Awards

Samuel A. Venable Award

Myles Fisher – Undergraduate, Kinesiology Claire Temple – Undergraduate, Sport Management Emma Barnhart – Undergraduate, Therapeutic Recreation

Patsy Crockett Boroviak Award

Matt Jones – Ph.D. Candidate, Sport Psychology & Motor Behavior

Ben A. Plotnicki Award

Marisa Varrone – Undergraduate, Kinesiology Kenny Miller – Undergraduate, Sport Management Emily Sykes – Undergraduate, Therapeutic Recreation

Martha Peters Award

Rachel Clifft – Undergraduate, Therapeutic Recreation

Edith Jessop Award

Camryn Cupp - Undergraduate, Therapeutic Recreation

Camp Koinonia Award

Kelsey Webb-M.S. Candidate, The rapeutic Recreation

Andy Kozar Award

Samuel LaMunion – Ph.D. Candidate, Kinesiology Paul Hibbing – Ph.D. Candidate, Kinesiology

Edward K. Capen Award

Zachary Smith – Ph.D. Candidate, Sport Management Paul Hibbing – Ph.D. Candidate, Kinesiology

Undergraduate Academic Achievement Awards Kinesiology

Hope Wooten (Fall/Summer) Sybil Mandle (Spring)

Sport Management

Caleb Wilson (Fall/Summer) James Jacobs (Spring)

Therapeutic Recreation

Rebekah Burns (Fall/Summer) Terra Jo Blanton & Rachel Clifft (Spring)

A.W. Hobt Memorial Teaching Award

Kaylee Woodard – Ph.D. Candidate, Sport Psychology & Motor Behavior Lindsey Miossi – M.S. Candidate, Sport Psychology & Motor Behavior Avery Blankenburg – M.S. Candidate, Therapeutic Recreation

James Rosenberg - William Rosenberg Family Foundation Sport Management Scholarship

Gracyn "Grace" Walker – Undergraduate, Sport Management

George F. Brady Teaching Award

Jason Scott, Ph.D. - Faculty, Therapeutic Recreation

American Kinesiology Association Awards

Undergraduate Scholar Award

Marisa Varrone – Kinesiology

National Graduate Scholars

Minttu Hukka – M.S. Candidate, Kinesiology Paul Hibbing – Ph.D. Candidate, Kinesiology

Student Writing Award

Zachary Smith – Ph.D. Candidate, Sport Management